In the late 1800s, immigrants from Central and Eastern Europe, including Hungarians, settled in the Mahoning Valley. To preserve their language, heritage and traditions, they congregated into Protestant, Roman Catholic and Byzantine Rite churches. Until 1928, Hungarian Roman Catholics belonged to St. Stephen of Hungary on the East Side. In 1926, Hungarians living on the West Side formed a committee to explore organizing a church. A building fund was established. In June 1928, the group petitioned Bishop Joseph Schrembs of Cleveland for permission to establish a new Hungarian Catholic parish on the West Side of Youngstown.